Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

2009 Chrysler Town & Country Touring 4.0L P2100 Throttle Actuator

More
5 years 11 months ago #20493 by StupidRalph
WARNING: Auction Vehicle
First off, I'm not a mechanic nor even a DIYer. Just a frustrated car owner who can't find a diagnostician. I apologize for any improper terminology.

Van in constant limp home mode. Started appearing intermittently. At first, I was able to turn vehicle off / on and it would come out of limp mode. Red lightning bolt flashes incessantly. Key dance pulls code P2100. My cheapo code reader doesn't even pull this code.

Throttle body looks new. But since it showed on my mechanics scan tool he recommended a new one. Replaced with new Mopar TB. Error code still persists. Unable to do a TB relearn as his tool wouldn't communicate. He now recommends a new pigtail and possibly pedal. I'm not opposed but I just don't want to pay just swap out working parts w/o proper diagnosis. I do suspect wiring issue. I'd just like to pinpoint which wire and where the open in the circuit occurs. I have already purchased 5183469AB Mopar 6 Way Wiring on Amazon. (Are the wire colors supposed to match my vehicle -- all 6 wires are purple). I'm a bit hesitant in cutting wires willy-nilly I do not think there is a short to ground since I tested for a short using multimeter and test light on negative battery post that did not illuminate. It appears previous owner may have had issue as PCM has possibly been replaced -- June 2016 sticker. Battery is new (12.38v) but has been sitting for a few months.

Below are the actual readings from my multimeter. There is no change in TP Sig 1 as the pedal is depressed.
Pin out

Pin 1 TP Sig 1 - 3.60 volts