Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

Blown Inductor on distributor to coil cable

More
3 years 9 months ago #41429 by PentaV8
Hello guys and girls.

Im a novice when it comes to electrical systems and i really need some help. (im from Norway btw so bare with me on my english)

I have a (TBI) GM 350 GI (PDMA) Volvo Penta (boat motor). And after FINALLY getting that son of a gun motor running by changing the ignition module it broke down again. It ran like a kitten for aprox 20 mins and suddenly started dying on me. Started it up again and died almost right away. Third time it was dead and smoke came rising from the engine room.

The wiring to the scanner contact was poor an had desolving insulation under the tape. All have now been fixed and put together again. Tried starting it up again and realized that there was no fuel again (same problem i had first time) so i jumped on ebay an bought a new ignition module again.

Installed that and got my fuel spraying again. But it seems i dont have spark.

Took of the cable going for center distributor and put a wire between coil cable and ground. I had to almost put the cableend all the way in the socket to get spark. It was a very weak spark. Maybe i did something wrong here. Idk.

But my real problem is this. Now the inductor or whatever it is, located on the pink (12 v) wire going from the ignition module to the coil burns up.

I was lucky enough to have an extra cable and installed that along with a new coil. So after cranking the engine once, just after letting go of the cranking, the new cable (inductor) burns up.

This is where im at. And i have asked numerus boat repairshops but no one can help me. So im quite desperate.