Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

2006 Ford cold RPM

More
5 years 1 month ago #27552 by Msober1
2006 Ford cold RPM was created by Msober1
Hello newbie here and love the videos and great learning tools. My own truck Explorer 2006 4.0 with no codes. I just don’t think the cold 20* weather startup RPM should be 2k to 2.5k. Scanned with Solus Pro and ECT AND IAT is within 10* of ambient. Any help would be great. I’m a retired mechanic by the way but you know you never stop learning.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 1 month ago #27570 by Matts Auto
Replied by Matts Auto on topic 2006 Ford cold RPM
Have you checked & cleaned throttle housing/ plate ?
The following user(s) said Thank You: Msober1

More
5 years 1 month ago #27594 by Msober1
Replied by Msober1 on topic 2006 Ford cold RPM
Yes I’m sorry guys I cleaned properly and inspected the throttle blade. She is free and clean. Truck has 110k and was well cared for. Syn oil all it life and trans service every 40k. This just started this December. MAF clean and free of bugs or dirt. Ty for your reply.

More
5 years 1 month ago #27597 by Alex Ace Auto
Replied by Alex Ace Auto on topic 2006 Ford cold RPM
If you have the option run a smoke test for a vacuum leak in the system. A cheap guess is the PCV valve is ruptured/bad. Fixed tons of these on this year range of explorer and expedition.

More
5 years 1 month ago #27600 by Msober1
Ty for the reply. I didn’t hear anything like a vacuum leak and did a spray test around the intake because of the older ones would have cracks. The high RPM will settle down on its own after the coolant reaches 70* that’s why I thought intake Orings.

More