Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

08 Hyundai Veracruz

More
5 years 3 months ago #26244 by mobileauto
on this veracruz I had an engine miss, felt like typical ign type miss-bad plug or coil- the only code was a P0305. It had new plugs and a new coil on that cylinder. I could duplicate the problem with a power stall or by driving it and the miss fire counter only showed #5, an occasional miss on another cyl.
The fuel trims were good on long and short termand mass air flow performed like expected and could not find any vaccum leaks, it would make the check engine light flash when driving.
Now for the rest of the story, I am fairly new with a scope, could not get to the #5 coil so I changed the plug and coil with another cylinder, no change. found a connector for #1, 3, and 5 injector, scoped the injectors 1 at a time, all looked the same and appeared to be a good pattern I did it both ways. long story short I could not pin point a problem, changed that injector and fixed it and have no idea what I should have seen on the scope-can anyone explain it to me?? thanks for your time

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 3 months ago #26245 by Desmond6004
Replied by Desmond6004 on topic 08 Hyundai Veracruz
I personally couldn't tell you but a skilled technician can tell by the rising slope of the injector pattern whether it is opening properly or even closing properly. I imagine if you were to scope a good injector and the bad one and superimpose them on top of each other you would see a difference.

Getting involved in discussions because I have a lot to learn still.

More
5 years 3 months ago #26247 by mobileauto