A place for things that don't fit into the automotive world

Engine DESTRUCTION / CARNAGE thread

More
6 years 11 months ago #10179 by Smitty Smithsonite
I didn't see an appropriate section to put this one in, so I figured I'd start it in the off-topic section - if the mods think it's better suited in another section, feel free to move it. :) I think every forum needs a carnage section, for entertainment, of course. :woohoo:

My first post here on the forum - been following Paul on Youtube for about a year now. I've been wrenching since I started fixing my bicycles around age 7 or so. Then, I graduated to dirt bikes and ATVs, then got my license at age 16 and progressed to cars. Attended the Motorcycle Mechanics Institute in Phoenix, AZ from mid '99 to early '01, worked at a bike shop out there for a bit, moved to CA with a buddy from school and did the shop thing out there for a few months until I crashed my bike, ran out of money, and moved back to MA. I roofed, worked in factories, drove tractor trailer & garbage trucks, then started full time working for myself out of my house 8 years ago doing small engines and auto repair. That's the condensed version. ;)

I've got a couple here from 2 different genres - one automotive, and one OPE (outdoor power equipment). The Focus I did back in '12, and the leaf blower was from the other day.

First up is a 2000 Ford Focus 2.0 engine. My cousin sold me the car for $500 back in 2012 as it sat, not running. Said it just quit. Well, as soon as I yanked the head I knew I was in for an adventure! It's the notorious valve-seat-spitter. Long story short, I repaired the carnage with a reman head, and just slapped a new piston and rod in it. We drove it for 8k miles trouble free, and decided to sell it (since it was a 4th vehicle). I threw it on eBay, and it's new home is somewhere in Africa now. :cheer: