Tell us and our members who you are, what you like and why you became a member of this site.
We welcome all new members and hope to see you around a lot!

New to the Forum

More
5 years 4 weeks ago #28015 by mtwoods1
New to the Forum was created by mtwoods1
Hello,

My name is Matt and I'm new to the forum.

I've been a shadetree mechanic since 1970 at the age of 7 when I fixed a VW Bug's high idle with a screwdriver. You should have seen the look on the teenage driver and passenger's faces when the idle dropped! I was hooked.

Profesionally, I maintained the F-15 Flight Simulator for 18 years (4 years enlisted) then worked as a maintenance technician in a couple of semiconductor fabs. I currently work as a Sr. Controls Technician building inspection tools and other robotic projects. I can pretty much fix anything given the time.

I have natural mechanical ability and have learned most of my electrical/electronic through Air Force training and personal experience.
My whole family have been involved in auto mechanics. My dad raced stock cars in a '65 Galaxy, He also drag raced with shirley muldowney and Big Daddy Don Garlits. My grandfather was a mechanic, too...While racing on day, he helped the Porche Mechanics figure out why thier wet clutch wouldn't disengage on the track (he had them cut some grooves in the clutch disc to relieve the hydrodynamic force of the wet clutch system. My mom was also a mechanic but when she showed up at the Marine Corp Motor Pool in 1960 they told her she couldn't be a mechanic, so they sent her to become an Air Traffic Controller.

I'm restoring a '71 Dodge Challenger and transfering a working transmission from my '88 Bronco into my '87 Bronco in my spare time. Currently, I'm trying to fix my 1993 Chevy 3.1LCorsica , replacing the heat pump and remodeling my house.

TMI...am I right?

Matt

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 4 weeks ago #28021 by Andy.MacFadyen