Tell us and our members who you are, what you like and why you became a member of this site.
We welcome all new members and hope to see you around a lot!

Forensic Fire Investigations

More
1 year 1 month ago #60259 by Ghoerner
I am a former mechanic who hasn't turned wrenches in a long time. I am now involved with fire investigation type work. Mostly car fires. My job is to figure out the origin and cause of automotive mechanical failures that led to fires. Most investigators do not consider (or haven't though of) probing the ECU as a valuable tools in the post fire investigation. My knowledge of OBD2 systems, suggests to me that most late model vehicle will save a DTC fairly rapidly if an open or short is detected in circuit wiring. I assume these DTC's are time stamped and include freeze-frame data on most newer vehicles. This knowledge (coupled with good wiring diagrams) may help a guy like me figure out where that first mechanical failure occurred.

Of course, there may be damage to the ECU from the fire to contend with. I am trying t5o develop a protocol for the retrieval of this data...and I am looking for you guy-ses knowledge and suggestions as to whether this seems possible.

So to accomplish my proposed data recovery.

(1) I will need a newer Scan tool (than my Ethos)...one that can retrieve pending codes and freeze frame data (in addition to DTC's).
(2) A breakout box (like GoDiag)
(3) a regulated (power conditioned) 12-volt power source.
(4) and possibly a USB programmer (software) that can read EEPROMs that are unsoldered from the PCB circuit board.

If the ECU is relatively undamaged, after a visual / internal inspection and cleaning, I might be able to do a bench scan (with a wiring harness connected to the appropriate pins)

If the PCB or internals appear internally discolored, damaged or shorted...
Then my recovery would require me to take one of the following approaches.