Tell us and our members who you are, what you like and why you became a member of this site.
We welcome all new members and hope to see you around a lot!

Thinking about a career change, advice would be apprecited!

More
7 years 1 day ago #9234 by scottberggren
Hey everyone, I've been watching Paul's videos for a while now, have the book and am going to join premium soon so I can start working through it. I'm just a home mechanic, but I'm tossing around the idea of being more than that.

I've been a teacher/principal for the last 16 years. Most of those years were in the US, but we also lived overseas for a while. Teaching has been a great career, and I'm in a great place right now with my work.

If you had asked me the question "If money wasn't an issue, what would you want to do with your life" I would have consistently said a mechanic. I opened an electronics repair business (guitar amps) that I ran for three years before I went overseas, so I like fixing and learning and troubleshooting.

My question is how to start moving that direction to test the waters. I know I love fixing, but I might hate the shop environment. Or maybe I want to do it freelance on the side. So here's some questions.

1. How would you guys suggest I test out being a mechanic? Should I look for a shop or dealership (any opinions on which one?) and see if I can work a few nights a week? Should I look for a tech school and start there?

2. What about ASE tests? I think I could pass the G1 (though I may be overconfident...), but should I even look at that right now? I just thought if I walked into a shop for a job/internship it would look good if I said I already passed G1.

I'm going to continue to learn from Paul's book and my two cars that always need some maintenance, but what advice would you give to someone who is considering a second career (maybe just a side job) as a mechanic?

Thanks for any advice!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More