For those interested in the other side of eternity

New Career

More
6 years 2 months ago #17224 by Tutti57
New Career was created by Tutti57
I don't know if this is where to post, but I guess encouragement could help!

I have a friend who is a service advisor at a local dealship and I am an aquaintence of the service manager. Well, my friend told me to call the manager about a job as a tech.

I called him tonight and talked for about a half hour about the job, which would be starting as a quick service tech, but would grow as I obtained certifications.

It would be a slight reduction in pay, but I would surpass what I make now and quite a bit more over some time. Definitely a growth rate faster than where I'm at.

Right now I am the team lead for employment law team for an HR company. I'm not a lawyer. It's a team of HR professionals who specialize in employment law. (so if any shop owners or managers have questions, fire away!)

I'm 36 years old but still feel like I would be more happy making a career change at this time. My wife is supportive.

Any words of wisdom or warning?

Sent from my Moto G Play using Tapatalk
The following user(s) said Thank You: aboudi.naddaf

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Noah
  • Give code definitions with numbers!
More
6 years 2 months ago #17258 by Noah
Replied by Noah on topic New Career
I think it's great to have opportunities open up like this. Even if nothing comes of it, it's good know that you have options.
It's also great that your wife is supportive of you, gotta have the home team on your side.

My instinct tells me that the switch could be troublesome, but if it's something you feel strongly about and if the people who work there already are 1) happy, 2) making good money and 3) willing to help you along, it could be rewarding.

The job is obviously going to be much more physical in nature, and at 36, you're only opening yourself up lasting work related injuries.