Rich Lean switching for cat operation

More
7 years 2 months ago #6284 by Reventon
Hi guys,
I am a newbie and was reading about the wide band AFR and the O2 sensors. Now, what I understood is that with the O2 sensors, ECU has no way of telling the degree of richness or leanness and so switching back and forth between rich and lean is the only way to be close to stoichiometric. AFR, owing to their wideband, can detect the richness or leanness and the ECU can thus precisely adjust the fuel, making their output steady.
Things get confusing when Catalytic converter comes in. In order for it to work properly, it must receive mixture close to stoichiometric that is alternating slightly between rich and lean. Cars with conventional O2 sensors fulfilled this condition. But for the cars with AFR sensor where the mixture is maintained stoichiometrically, how does the CAT then work. Now some websites mentioned that for the CAT to work, the ECU still gives rich/lean pulses but these are not detectable. :( . I have seen the Voltage and current plots of these AFR sensors and there is simply no switching pattern. If it is so, then how the upstream AFR compares with the downstream O2 to check the catalytic efficiency.

Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Noah
  • Give code definitions with numbers!
More
7 years 2 months ago #6289 by Noah
What gets me is that, if the mixture is so precise and unchanging with a wide band AFR, then why with a faulty cat does the downstream zirconia 02 sensor switch rich to lean in the same fashion as a car fitted with an upstream and downstream zirconia 02?

"Ground cannot be checked with a 10mm socket"

More
7 years 2 months ago #6296 by Tyler
Excellent questions, Reventon! B) I might have some answers.