I have a question about Section 10 circuit integrity testing

More
3 years 1 month ago #47227 by XsleepercellX
Section 10 page 10-2 Using DTCs, •circuit high trouble codes
Its saying to disconnect the sensor signal wire and jump it to the sensor ground, then if you have a circuit low code it says to jump the 5 volt ref wire to the signal wire... can anyone elaborate on this for me? I’m fairly new to engine performance diagnostics and trying to do it right which is why I’m here. My concern is which sensors can I jump like this and be confident I’m not going to damage a computer? I attached a picture of the page I’m inquiring about... thanks for any help in advance!
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 1 month ago - 3 years 1 month ago #47240 by Chad
The computer sends out a bias voltage on the signal, or control wire. This voltage varies from system to system. In this example, I will use 5 volts.