SHORT TERM AND LONG TERM FUEL TRIMS

More
1 year 6 months ago #58376 by Mechanic 350
This topic is still kicking me in my rear. What videos can you direct me in the premium channel where I can understand this topic better. Because when paul did the fuel trims with the honda for a rich condition, i tried following but got lost quickly. How do I read my own fuel trims in my car and decipher it?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 year 6 months ago #58426 by SK
I understand your confusion, and like you, I'm a student.

So, we'll let Paul and others chime in to provide feedback on how well I have absorbed the material.

How do you read the data?

The bottom line is you are looking for ZERO on both long and short term fuel trims. Positive numbers mean the engine is in a lean condition/rich command; in other words, there isn't enough fuel, and the computer is commanding the injectors to open for a longer period of time.

Negative numbers, mean the engine is in a rich condition, and the computer is commanding to take away fuel.

As long as you are within a range of -10 to positive 10, you are fine.

The fun comes with you have a high negative number or a high positive number.

For example, I had a Ford F150 6 cylinder come in with lean misfire codes; so I connected the scan tool and monitored fuel trims. As I increased the engine speed, (less vacuum), I noticed the short term fuel trim number drop. With less air going into the engine due do lower vacuum, the computer commanded less fuel. So, I smoke tested it, and found intake manifold leaks at the EGR valve, and two PCV hose leaks. Once I replaced the EGR valve and hoses (and cleared the DTCs), fuel trims went back to the normal range.

Still, I ran into a weird one today, so I'll be posting that as a separate question for the real experts to answer.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Mechanic 350, momodusall642.sall

More
1 year 6 months ago #58428 by Mechanic 350