Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

2012 Terrain 2.4 P0089 and P228D

More
2 years 1 month ago #55212 by GSeymour
2012 Terrain with 2.4 Ecco. 167k miles. Vehicle will lope / lunge/ after being driven for about 10-15 minutes, only when idling in gear. Throw it into park or neutral and the idle smooths' out. With it in gear, give it a little gas with the brake on and it smooths' out. I have been driving the car for two months with this condition, as it drives great, except for stopping at traffic lights. I just put it in neutral. No codes other than the P0420.

When this condition started a few weeks ago, it was only throwing P00240, for the Cat. I didn't feel a bad catalytic convertor would cause a poor idle. I took it to my mechanic who said to replace the cam actuators. So, I replaced them along with the cam sensors, plugs and an oil change. Pulling the air box tube off, there was a good bit of sludge and water. (More on this later.) Replacing said parts didn't affect the idle problem.

Upon starting one morning, it had no power, just like a bad Cat. Had it towed to my mechanic and he tells me it is the timing chain. Had him perform that work. But it didn't correct the idle problem. (It probably needed the chain replaced anyway.) Back to the mechanic and he tells me the Cat is bad. Take it to a local muffler shop and he tells me the Cat is bad. Take it to a different mechanic and he tells me the Cat is bad.

I "eliminated" the upstream Cat (we do not have testing here) as a test to see if this would have any impact on the idle, which it didn't. (Yes i get the P0420 codes.) I thought that if the Cat was bad, then this would make some change - good or bad.