Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

Baffled Canadian!!.

More
2 years 10 months ago #49808 by Raydes 050
Hello Everyone, Love the Show,
   I'm a diy mechanic with a 1997 Ford F-150, 4.2 V6, rebuilt 8000km ago and when I bought it, it had several problems, which I have fixed. Thanks to Scanner Danner I found a hidden vac. leak that I am sure previous mechanics did not find due to the location and the rusted bolts that were never taken off!! It was behind the battery case next to the firewall, a line right out of the vac. tank. Anyway after replacing one o2, B2S1, because it was reading straight lean with no response, I now have a rich condition that I can't make sense of. Before with the vac leak, I had lean and rich codes now I am just getting rich codes and still goes into closed loop fault after a couple of minutes, then open loop fault. While it is in closed loop at first, all 4 O2.s are at .8, to .9 volts and the computer is taking away fuel -20 on both banks, also I should mention that the truck starts great, runs great, except for the black smoke due to rich condition! I did a compression test and that checked out, vacuum on the engine shows 17 or 18 hg steady, checked for plugged exhaust and that seems good, No backpressure,  I don't have a long term FT numbers for some reason, not sure if its because it never stays in closed loop long enough for it to get there? or some other reason? I have excellent fuel pressure and the regulator works as it should with no leaks, did an injector balance test and they all drop 6psi, also took them all out and cleaned the screens & checked to see if maybe one was stuck or something, ran cleaner through them with no issues! Checked and replaced EGR, PCV