Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

2010 chevey equinox 2.4 L, no crank, no start, U0100 P0615 P1682

More
2 years 10 months ago - 2 years 10 months ago #49644 by stspringer
Hello All,
I am not a mechanic, just a learning enthusiast. For a learning experiment, I removed the starter relay from my underhood fusebox, and with the key in the on position, I jumped terminal 30 to terminal 87, and as expected the car started. 

Then a few days later I mistakenly jumped terminal 30 to terminal 86. Terminal 30 is always hot, terminal 86 is ground. I created a short! I saw smoke come out of the fusebox.

These are codes I got when I was able to communicate.

U0100 lost communication with an engine control module 
P0615 starter relay control circuit
P1682 Ignition 1 switch circuit 2

So now I can still start the car by jumping from terminal 30 to terminal 87, and the car runs, but I can NOT start the car with the key in the start position.

I took apart the fuse box and I can see a burnt trace on the circuit board. I purchased a used 2010 equinox fuse box on eBay put it in and got crazy instrument lights etc found out it must be programmed. I am in the process of checking out how to get it programmed. This eBay fuse box also had a broken 80 amp fuse connection that was broken I contacted the seller and he told me to keep the fuse box and he will refund my $43.00 dollars, and so I kept the fuse box with all the fuses and relays, and the seller did refund my money. Nice

Here are the tests I ran so far

Sunday 06_27_2021 using the power probe 3