Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

Re:2010 Equinox misfire at idle horribly worse when warm in closed loop.

More
3 years 1 week ago #48353 by troy.villeneuve
Hello forum users. This is my first time attempting to use a forum so bare with me please.

I have been trying to pin point a misfire on a 2010 equinox 2.4l, only at idle and engine warm in closed loop mainly. I believe I have narrowed it down to vvt being set to 5 degrees on the exhaust cam at idle. Mitchell diy states it should be at zero at idle. With no codes being set other than the random misfire and exhaust cam sensor a couple of times and the fact I tested and swapped the cam sensors hoping the fault would jump to the intake cam I found only normal readings during testing and the code hasn't come back in quite some time.

Once the misfiring starts the cam becomes more erratic in it's attempt to return it to zero. If I unplug the connector for the exhaust cam solenoid the engine settles right down so I am pretty certain it might be an input signal telling ecm to set it to 5 degrees when it shouldn't or the ecm has a bad driver for this one cam solenoid.

Not being horribly familiar with variable valve timing this diagnosis has been a bit of a challenge. I have begun testing every input sensor, I am continually working my way through them but if the ecm isn't detecting anything out of range I feel as though I am testing things that need no testing. Everything so far seems to be within range.

Does anyone have any advice? I appreciate any help you might give. Thank you.

Troy

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 1 week ago #48355 by John Curtis