Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

2003 Dodge Ram 1500 4.7 Automatic

More
3 years 1 month ago #47578 by Matt18
Ok so this one has really stumped me. I’m by no means an expert but I like wiring and understand it pretty well. I’ve also learned so much over the last few weeks from ScannerDanner, it’s amazing the knowledge he has.
Anyways, on to the problem. This 2003 Dodge 4.7 came into the shop probably 2 months ago because the owner said it would randomly shut off. He could pull over, put it in park, turn key off, and then turn it back on and it would start right up.
I hooked scan tool up and no codes. On the test drive it did exactly what he said it would. Under acceleration it will (sometimes) shut off and gear display acts crazy (I think it goes blank). You cannot bump it into neutral and start it. The key has to go all the way to the off position before it will restart. I can also replicate the issue with the truck in park and by snapping the throttle.
So what is happening is the pcm/tcm (all together on this one) is shutting down. Scanner looses com, 5v ref goes dead, and this is why there’s no codes. I have checked power and ground going to computer and all are steady when the truck dies. I have scoped cam and crank. When the truck dies sometimes the crank signal looked odd so I replaced that. Same thing. I have also replaced the pcm/tcm to no avail.
The problem does seem to get worse the hotter the truck gets. It will get so bad that before the truck even cranks up the computer shuts down.