Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

05 Accord V6 running lean, awful fuel economy.

More
3 years 2 months ago #46895 by hayk90
2005 Honda Accord V6
162,782 miles

Friend noticed he’s been getting awful fuel economy. About 14MPG which is about 180-200 miles per tank.

I ran a test on his fuel trim with my BlueDriver OBD2 scanner and noticed the engine is running lean about 10-17% per each bank. No check engine light or trouble codes.

I’m very new at this and not sure where to begin.

I recorded some live data of the fuel trim (short and long) for each bank, engine RPM, coolant temp, and vehicle speed which I can share in here. It doesn’t seem to get better or worse while raising the RPM from idle.

Engine has a MAP sensor. BlueDriver is unable to read Upstream Air/Sensor voltage, instead it’s displayed as a current. Only voltage is for the rear sensors. I was able to record that live data as well while driving around.

I was hoping the ScannerDanner community could point me in the right direction to start testing this engine for possible issues.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 2 months ago #46897 by hayk90
Here is the fuel trim recording.

30sec @ idle
30sec @1500rpm
30sec @2500rpm
30sec @3000rpm
30sec @idle again

More
3 years 2 months ago #46904 by Hardtopdr2
What does your map sensor read when key on engine off?
when key on engine running at idle?
1500?
2000?
2500?
3000?

Also what where the voltage reading of the o2 sensors (all of them) during that video?

More
3 years 2 months ago #46945 by hayk90