Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

Rough Idle & Misfire No Codes - 2007 Ford F150 STX 4.2L 285k miles

More
3 years 3 months ago #46309 by cadman777
Hi Guys,

I'm new in this thread, so this is my first post on how to diagnose a problem. I'm working on my neighbor's 2007 Ford F150 STX 4.2L 6 cyl, with about 285k miles. Can't figure it out b/c I'm kind'a new to this stuff and am learning-as-I-go. The biggest challenge is sorting through all the PIDS and procedures using a DVM and scope. So your help is much appreciated.

The guy's truck is idles rough and has an apparent misfire all the time. It has plenty of power. Sometimes it stalls when he stops at a light. There are no related DTCs. Mode 6 shows 'all OK'. DTC check came from an OEM Hickok NGS scanner, and the Mode 6 and Live Data came from an OTC Pegisys (combo scanner & scope). All onboard tests were done with both scanners.

My biggest problem is not knowing what I'm looking at with live data, so don't know where to go next.