Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

2007 Tunda v8 5.7 4x4 P0717

More
3 years 8 months ago #41894 by TechNick
So I had my first MIL on my Tundra for the 5 years I've had it. It threw a p0717 "Input/Turbine Speed Sensor A Circuit No Signal". It's not a permanent code. And it had to happen a day before I was going to tow the boat to the lake.... fun times. I'm going to drive it around to see if it was a fluke code, the performance has been fine up to this point. Googling the code leads me to think it's a bad sensor or an internal transmission problem. Any guys here familiar with Toyotas that have seen that code? Am I most likely looking at a transmission rebuild? I'm an Acura tech so I'd be thrilled if someone here knew of a pattern of those sensors going out and I'll put one in. If it's internal, I'm not touching that trans...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 8 months ago #41897 by TechNick
To give some more info, I cleared the code and road tested my truck again. It took a few miles, but it eventually coded up. Not a fluke. :( But no slippage or other symptoms.

More
3 years 8 months ago #41898 by Hardtopdr2
Odds are if the is no signal is from a buildup of metalic/(magnetic) metal. But i would check the wiring for circuit integrity. Ohm wires from trans conector to pcm for i.s.s. circuit. If they test ok then your going to have to open tranny up and check for metal flake stuck to sensor also the vehicle speed sensor can suffer the same way pull it as well and clean them off. The i.s.s. and the v.s.s. may not be bad just have a buildup of the metal on it. Depending on how much is in the trans pan it might need a rebuild.