Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

Dodge Caliber 2007 torque converter

• rudolph.palm
  • rudolph.palm's Avatar Topic Author
  • Dont Limit Your Challenges, Challenge your Limits!
More
4 years 3 weeks ago #39566 by rudolph.palm
Hello,
Any body on this forum who knows the torque converter assembly internally? Working on a 2007 DODGE Caliber with a CVT transmission JF10/11E. Problem: No forward or backwards movements. Can feel the transmission engage in drive or reverse but it slips badly and no car movement possible. (no DTC codes) Checks the valve body and solenoids and tested OK. Fluid Level OK. I decided to pull down the transmission and open it to verify. (I have some experience in rebuilding automatic transmissions).. Nothing wrong has been observed. Good clutch packs and seals. Clean ATF no mayor metal residues in lower pan. Variator and chain looks in great shape, I did not disassemble the variator to verify, visual inspection only and it looks in good shape. After concluding that the CVT transmission might be OK, I went back and check the Torque converter. After drained all the Fluid out, holding it in horizontal position and shaking it sounds clearly like there is something broken inside and moving free when moving the torque converter assembly. I was pretty convinced that all my problem was a broken torque converter. I ordered a rebuild one. When it arrived, surprisingly the same "broken part" noise can be feel in it as well. It sounds exactly as the original torque converter, now I am confused, Its hard to believe if the one I ordered is also broken in the same way as the original.... I may be barking on the wrong door!!:silly: :silly: … Wanting to cut one open to see what the heck