Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

2003 Hummer H2 Misfire

More
3 years 11 months ago - 3 years 11 months ago #38924 by JupiterBandit
I was a mechanic back in 1996 after graduating tech school. Unfortunately these scanner were very new and very expensive so I had little experience with them. I'm hoping this is the place to learn how to use scanners and scopes. Working on a 2003 Hummer H2 and I'm looking forward to diagnosing it without throwing parts at it. Currently it has a P0300 code. Misfire data shows a couple misfires on Cyl 1, 20 misfires on Cyl 5, and 50 misfires on Cyl 6. Misfire history shows 500 misfires on Cyl. 5 and 2500 misfires on Cyl 6. I am using a Snap On Modis EES300. I bought an OTC Low Amp Probe for it and have had zero luck setting the probe up to get any readings. The scanner was left to me by my father in law when he died last year.
Last edit: 3 years 11 months ago by Dylan.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 11 months ago #38929 by juergen.scholl
With regards to the current clamp:

Make sure it got a good battaery. Connect the the banana jacks accordingly to the scope and select the corresponding channel. The low current clamp probably features 2 ranges, one equals to 100mV/A and the other 1V/A. It also may indicate 20A and 60A.

You may select Volts DC or low amp current clamp in the channel settings. When switcing on the clamp to the desired range you should see now the channel graph hovering around the zero value.