× Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

P0171 on BMW X1 2013 20i

• tiagoaviz
  • Topic Author
More
23 Mar 2020 21:19 #38576 by tiagoaviz
P0171 on BMW X1 2013 20i was created by tiagoaviz
Hello guys,

I'm a new member and I'd like to first thank ScannerDanner for making available on Youtube such high-level videos explaining concepts that I thought that were our of reach for me to understand.

I'm not a mechanic, for starters :) So please go easy on me.

I bought my first BMW, an X1 20i - 2013 model. It has the BMW N20 engine with 184bhp.

I used this car happily for about two weeks when I first sent it off to my local shop to see how things were. This car had some usual things to do, such as oil, filters, belts, spark plugs, brake fluid, coils, all of which I asked to be replaced.

When I received the car, it wasn't giving me any alerts, but I could smell a very strong smell of rotten eggs when I first started it in the morning. I kept using it for a few days as I was on a busy schedule. The mileage had worsened, too.

I was on the highway some days later, when I got an alert saying that I lost power on main propulsor. Idle was very erratic, so I drove to the neareast gas station and stopped. The car wouldn't turn on anymore.

I was able to restart it with much effort so I could put it over the tow truck. Every time it started, white smoke everywhere. The guy on the truck said it was certain that I had bad gas on the car.

Well, I got the car towed to the shop, where after two days they had to exchange the fuel injectors which were damaged. I got the car back from the shop with the ignition alert which never came up.

This is when I bought my OBDII dongle so I could take a look at things myself.