Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

2004 Ford Crown Victoria Misfire

More
4 years 7 months ago #33402 by clearset
Any help with this would be greatly appreciated. I am new to reading wave forms as well, trying to get better. I will attach as much wave for pics etc.. as i can

Misfire is most pronounced around 1150-1250 RPM and tapers off a bit but definately does not dissappear the higher RMP you go. Can hear the misfire through the exhaust (dual) and see and feel the engine shake.
- New plugs around 8 months ago.
- Ultrasonically cleaned injectors while activating them with an injector pulser (same misfire before and after clean). (after cleaning while activating injectors with pulser them can see all 4 nozzle orifices spray , not while under pressure just with residual ultrasonic cleaning solution in them) .
- Fuel trims are very lean (around -18%) at idle and around -7% at 2000 RPM
- hooked smoke machine to intake, found the egr valve leaking from diaphram. I have one on order but in the meantime i plated the egr. No other intake leaks detected
- sprayed brake clean all around the intake manifold with no change in fuel trim or 02 sensor data. Confirmed a change would occur by spraying at air filter first, vehicle reacted as predicted with rich 02 sensor data and fuel trim data.
- steady manifold vacuum at around -21 with vac gauge
- performed a relative compression test and all cyls within 95% and above
- unplugged one injector at a time with vehicle running and random misfire did not disappear.
- fuel rail pressure while running around 266
- Car has no trouble starting cold or hot