Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

2001 Buick Century occasionally stumbles, more rarely dies.

More
4 years 8 months ago #32883 by DaveDay
Bought a 2001 Buick Century in April 2017 with 23K miles on it, in near perfect condition. Classic "Grandma's car". Aside from a battery and new tires, haven't done a thing to it since. But in July it started stumbling and sometimes dying. No codes to speak of - there was a P0446 but a vent control solenoid and new gas cap may have fixed that - don't think a full evap test has run yet. The car currently has 39K miles on it.

I am new to ScannerDanner world and I am definitely not a technician by any stretch (though I wanna be! DIY in the driveway type.) The vacuum at the fuel regulator is 17 in Hg and it regularly pulses low to 16.5. I notice that when I have a scanner connected and I am watching the O2S, when I accelerate to ~4000rpm the voltage of the O2 sensor suddenly collapses to near 0V and stays there until the rpms fall some or until I lift off the gas. If I don't lift off the gas the engine rpms rise and fall in a regular fashion, first 4K then 3.5K etc. When the rpms are high the O2S voltage is near 0.

Please excuse the ignorance here, I am literally only on Chapter 1 of Mr. Danner's book, and though I have done a lot of mechanical DIY repairs over the years, I am over my head here for the time being.

I have not even looked at the spark plugs/wires etc yet.

Any guidance will be appreciated. I do not have a scope yet and have only a Blue Driver ODB2 thingy and an old Genysis OTC SPX scan tool. I do have the usual DVM and a Power Probe and a garage full of mechanical tools etc. I have mostly been a parts changer.

Thanks,
Dave Day