Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

99' Mazda Miata P0172- fixed rich 02

More
7 years 5 months ago - 7 years 5 months ago #4039 by fudgie
Hello everyone-
New to forum. Been lurking for a while. 20 year tech. Trying to up my game with scope usage. I have a verus but by no means is it my "go to" tool. Trying to use it more and more so please understand that other then watching many of Pauls videos- I'm still a rookie! So here is what I have:

1999 Mazda Miata-
212K on the clock-
Recent engine build by another shop- (seems strong- 21" of vacuum at idle)
Has an aftermarket intake (with a reman maf) along with a header and high flow catalyst (that doesn't appear to be working well)

Car runs great. You would never know there was an issue except for the mil and P0172. At idle b1s1 voltage is pinned at exactly .9v. As soon as I bring the idle up a hair it starts switching. Give it a vacuum leak and O2 voltage drops down to .2v. Rear O2 when finally warmed up is sitting right at .8v so I'm fairly sure that I have a true rich condition.

What I have checked:
Fuel pressure is 62psi-
Verified cam timing-
There are no vacuum leaks-
Made a block off gasket for egr just to rule that out.
Throttle position is zero at idle
STFT: -18
LTFT: -20
Coolant temp: 181f

I checked the reman maf with the scope. At idle its right at 2.2v. Verus says it should be around 1.8v. Is that enough to cause an issue? Not sure if its the aftermarket intake causing this? I also attached a cell phone pic ( because the greenhorn couldn't figure out how to snap shot it while learning on the job) of my throttle snap and it does not really look like what's in Paul's book. Any thoughts? Thanks for takin' a look.

Attachments: