Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

Help me understand circuit design

More
4 years 11 months ago #29756 by Deltron
OK so I was working on a 2001 Subaru Forester yesterday (the car is "Fixed" and gone, btw) and the complaint was that the dashboard illumination was not working when the headlights were on. Now, I'm a dealer tech with Subaru but their internal coverage for tech data stops at 2005, so I was forced into using Identifix for my diagram.

It's not shown here but that Violet wire is the power feed to all the bulbs and the orange/white wire on the module is the ground side of the bulbs. I had determined that the bulbs were not receiving a ground when the headlight switch was on, because my test light lit while I was backprobing the org/wht wire. This is where I stumbled a bit.. I don't clearly understand the right side of the combination switch as it's drawn. The headlight stalk has Off, Park and Head and that's it. No fancy doo-dads on it. I found nothing on those 3 wires(module unplugged) with a test light and my volt meter bounced around like the leads weren't connected. At this point I decided to hook up my scope and I plugged the module back in. With the switch off, again I saw nothing on those 3 wires, but when I turned either to Park or to Head, my scope showed me a V-wave (imagine a squarewave but shaped as a V) that was going from +2.5v to -2.5v on all 3 wires. Then I decided to test the orange/white again, and I was presented with a beautiful squarewave with a 5-10% on time, which wasn't enough to illuminate the dash.