Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

2001 Infiniti QX4 Air/Fuel Alpha values 110-140%, low power at high rpm.

More
4 years 11 months ago #29145 by SHIMHEAD
Hello,
First a bit of background. I am a nearly 40 year veteran tech working in a multi-franchise dealer (Infiniti, Maserati, Alfa Romeo, Rolls-Royce), ASE Master, L1, Infiniti Master, Rolls Master, Porsche Gold Tech. I own a PicoScope 4423. Now on to my questions. I just installed a JDM engine pull in a 2001 Infiniti QX4. As far as I was able to research, the core engine (Pistons, crank, cams) are the same as the original. I did have to swap over the intake cam sprockets, front timing cover, upper oil pan, crank pulley, and flex plate to accommodate the different cam/crank sensing setup as the original engine. Using E3 spark plugs. Shortly after I had it running, I noted it would not rev freely into the upper RPM's (4-5K). The original engine had a head gasket issue on bank 1. There was a very steamy exhaust stream for the first several minutes after new engine start-up. Have driven it several days so far, with no codes set yet. Looking at O2 waveforms (Using my own Consult II in line graph mode), it is apparent that the bank 1 cat is not functional (rear O2 mirroring front). Rear O2 on bank 2 staying low/lean. Air/Fuel Alpha readings 110-115% both banks at idle, climbing to the 140% range on moderate to hard accel., then falling to 120-130% at cruise. Have cleaned air flow meter and new air filter. I have a home made in cylinder transducer available. New fuel filter and fuel pressure test are next steps planned. Looking for suggestions as to least invasive/simplest/best bang for the buck diagnostic steps. OE cats are $400 each my cost, no