Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

Short and long term are -100 on both?

More
5 years 2 months ago - 5 years 2 months ago #27351 by tloftis
1997 Mazda B4000 4x4 4.0 engine. I have only once code and it is the dtfe. I have already replaced this and the mil light went out and has not been back on. I may be looking at old codes. I am using a Snap on Modis with 9.4 software. and........... I am a rookie diy guy.

Why would the trims be so high on both? 02 sensors are on zero.

THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER HAS BEEN REPLACED WITH A STRAIGHT PIPE AND A BUNG WELDED TO PUT THE 02 SENSOR BACK WHERE IT WAS
Last edit: 5 years 2 months ago by tloftis. Reason: FORGOT to mention parts had been modified

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 2 months ago #27352 by tloftis
I forgot to add that it runs pretty good?

More
5 years 2 months ago - 5 years 2 months ago #27359 by Paul6004
Someone who knows for sure will soon chime in but I think with some vehicles 100% means "100% perfect" :) A trim of "+20%" would then register as "120%".
Also make sure the vehicle is at operating temperature when you check fuel trims - once it goes 'closed loop' it will start making adjustments then you
may see the short term moving up and down a bit.
Last edit: 5 years 2 months ago by Paul6004.

More
5 years 1 month ago - 5 years 1 month ago #27385 by tloftis
my snapon modis said that it was in OPEN loop when I checked it.

I checked it today and the scanner said open. Sorry I missed stated what it was.

it won't go into closed loop. Engine temp fully warmed up was always 171 deg..
Last edit: 5 years 1 month ago by tloftis. Reason: incorrectly stated it was in the wrong loop

More