Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

03 Isuzu rodeo,3.2 Doha v6, fresh rebuild, runs great until closed loop

More
6 years 2 months ago #18320 by Obsessed
Newbie here. 40 yrs ago i rebuilt engines for hobby. Had kids, been out of it till last year. Now doing charity rebuilds for good people on min wage, trying hard to make it. Me too, but that’s another story! Bought dans book and ebook, but hoping for a fast fix since this girls been waiting for 4 months to get the rodeo back. Here goes, complete rebuild, machine shop, and felpro kit, Hastings rings. Motor had major head gasket leak. Left side, as is common with this engine, but no cracks in head. Reassembled, runs great, had a couple codes at first, but rebooked o2 sensors in correct order! Now no codes. Car runs great, until, I’m pretty sure closed loop. Then dies. Won’t restart, and starter makes weird sound. I first thought it was cam gears, but garden hose to ear test, (im going deaf. Really! It’s only rock and roll) confirms starter location. Let engine cool, boom starts immediately.
Fuel pressure gauge, shows 2-5 lbs of fuel pressure consistently. Just put in new airtex fuel pump, shoots fuel across yard, except when i was in the way.:sick: . Still no pressure, clamp off return fuel line, goes to 50. Replaced regulator, ac- deco, still 2-5 lbs on gauge, drove around block, got to temp, boom dead.
So, i do understand what the sensors do, elec eng degree, although, didn’t use it. Still pretty adept at electronics.