Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

Persistent misfire on a GM 4.3 motor during damp weather.

More
6 years 5 months ago #15307 by Bigfoote13
Hi Paul and everyone, I hope you all had a great Thanksgiving!
My name is Doug and I am a mobile mechanic over here in Northern California and have a couple of questions.

For a while now I've been a bit confused about what the difference is between short-term and long-term fuel trim, even after taking the Advanced Engine Performance class at the college here. So I reviewed Paul’s section where he discuss it in detail in class and I think I understand it much better now.

I am wondering though why the long-term trim only gets updated after moving the throttle position either up or down. Seems to stay constant until the RPM's change. Does anyone know why?

And also on another point, I have a friend who has a 2000 GMC 4.3 with a spider injected TBI motor that runs pretty decent in dry weather but whenever it's raining, especially during damp weather it has a very bad misfire. I've been dealing with this for a while now trying to get it figured out and I think I'm starting to narrow it down. I kind of thought that it might have something to do with an intake leak until Paul mentioned that if it is misfiring and showing high fuel trim numbers at higher RPMs, it's NOT an intake leak. And of course after thinking about that made sense to me.