Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

92 Jeep Cherokee 4.0L - Rough Idle - TPS Readings

More
6 years 8 months ago #12015 by waxerk5
Hello to all,

This is my first time using the scope and following the directions included in the Snap On Modis. I'm working on my 92 Jeep Cherokee with the straight 6 4.0 motor, 4WD automatic. It currently has a rough idle and a possible misfire. I've replaced all the 25 year old vacuum lines and confirmed with a smoke machine that there are no vacuum leaks.

Below you'll see TPS voltage sweep graphs that seem to show a bad spot on the TPS at about 60% throttle. The instructions in the Modis state that there should be a smooth transition from idle voltage to WOT voltage. Included are both the idle to WOT and WOT back to idle graphs.

What do you guys think? Replace the TPS is what it's looking like to this diagnostic newb!!!

IDLE TO WOT

WOT TO IDLE

Thanking you all in advance for helping me to interpret these readings.

Steven

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 8 months ago #12016 by The Auto Tech
Definitely looks like you have a bad TPS.
Does it only run rough at idle?

More
6 years 8 months ago #12017 by waxerk5

LarryTheCarGuy wrote: Definitely looks like you have a bad TPS.
Does it only run rough at idle?

Yes, it has a intermittent stumbling idle that I think may be a misfire, but I'm not getting any codes. It drives fine, has power, and nothing that I can see bad coming from the TPS at 60% throttle while driving it.

More
6 years 8 months ago #12018 by Dave101
I agree with Larry it looks like a bad TPS. What do your fuel trims and O2 look like?

More
6 years 8 months ago #12019 by The Auto Tech