Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

OPEL ASTRA (CHEVY CRUZE FOR USA MARKET) 1.4L TURBO COOLING ISSUE

More
8 months 3 weeks ago #62621 by zafeiropoulos
Hello everyone.

I am a DIY amateur living in Greece. i have an opel astra 1.4L turbo (the equivalent of chevy cruze in usa, just GM shut down the chevrolet brand in europe and uses the brand of opel for europe), and my issue is that cooling temperature on the coolant cannot come down to the normal range.
the problem started when i saw coolant leaking from the water pump, and i took the car to a local garage who changed the water pump and the thermostat. from that moment the car's behavior changed and the acceleration became quicker. then i noticed that the car reaches the normal operating temperature which is abt 90o celcius, and the thermostat opens as it should at 105o celcius. so far so good. the cooling fan kicks in and the temperature reaches down to 98o celcius, as it should as per thermostat specs. the point is that the ecu wants the temperature to drop down to 95o celcius in order to shut down the fan. i have managed to do so only after driving for really 5-10 minutes continuously, or after pushing the rpm to 3-3500 and holding it there for enough time. i am trying to figure out some possible ways why this is happening and tackle them down one by one. from what i saw on the video that danner has on youtube, the thermostat is closing at 98o mechanically, and this is indeed happening so we are ok with that. i am thinking below as possible problems, let me know your thoughts:

1-water pump is not creating enough pressure for the coolant to flow
2-blown head gasket/ chacked engine block/ cracked valve head