Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

13’ silverado 6.0 alcohol & 172/175 issue

More
1 year 4 months ago #59020 by playdoh
So I’m fairly new to scan tools but starting to grasp the basics.
I have a 13’ silverado 2500hd. Just bought it and after a couple weeks engine light is on. 172/175 rich codes. As it got cold or just after more time, it started to run kinda poorly. Bit of a stumble at take off, then some extended cranking at start.
So I bought a Launch 431+ off Amazon and been resetting the alcohol content and it fixed the issue as best I can tell. I’m just not sure it’s a full 100% fixed but much improvement.
After a couple weeks I started noticing performance decline and check alcohol content (didn’t check just reset first time), and it’s at 35ish %. Fuel is 10% at most I’m sure.
I checked fuel pressure and it’s good. Like 60 at idle. I think like 40-50 at key on engine off, and holds there.

I’ve read that the dealer usually flashes the ECU to fix the alcohol issue, at least as a first step. I’m not sure how I can go about that. I’m guessing I’d have to buy a subscription for a day or so, then learn how to get it done?
I’m planning on subscribing to the premium account here and learning as much as I can. Yet I’d like to fix this as soon as I can, without trying to flash anything without complete confidence in what I’m doing.
The truck came with only one key and fob. I just got a couple OE keys and fobs and I think I can just get the keys copied / cut by a locksmith or the machines at part shops, if I can get someone to break the rules and do it for me.