Help us help you. By posting the year, make, model and engine near the beginning of your help request, followed by the symptoms (no start, high idle, misfire etc.) Along with any prevalent Diagnostic Trouble Codes, aka DTCs, other forum members will be able to help you get to a solution more quickly and easily!

2005 Dodge 3.8 misfire. Waveform question

More
1 year 9 months ago - 1 year 9 months ago #57189 by Fixit man
I have a 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan 3.8L with a random #4 cylinder misfire. I have attached a photo of a screenshot using my Snap on modis scope with the inductive pickup on cylinder 4 plug wire attached next to the coil pack. I circled the waveform in question which I could not find any examples on line or while looking through Paul’s book or premium channel. Has anyone seen this waveform and what does it indicates? I am a diy mechanic and greatly appreciate this channel and Paul’s time and energy teaching others skills he has learned. I keep the 2005 caravan mainly as a trainer for me to learn these skills. Any help would be appreciated. Additional information is my short term fuel trim is less than 5 and long term is negative 32. I am embarrassed to say I have changed upstream O2. Fuel injectors ( never changed fuel injectors before so wanted see how difficult it was and it was not.) Fuel pressure is 58 psi ( that is specification). Not sure why van is running rich. Any help is greatly appreciated!
Last edit: 1 year 9 months ago by Tyler. Reason: Attached too many pictures

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 year 9 months ago #57197 by Tyler

Has anyone seen this waveform and what does it indicates?

It's a bit difficult to say at this zoom level. If possible, could you retake the waveform with a higher voltage scale? And zoomed in closer to the #4 firing event? I can't tell if you've got Peak Detect on or not. Keep it on if so, turn it on if not.