A place for things that don't fit into the automotive world

18v Cordless Impact Wrench Ryobi or De Walt ? Opinnions ?

More
3 years 2 months ago #45725 by Andy.MacFadyen
Shopping for a high torrque 18v cordless brushless impact wrench. I want one that will cope with crankshaft pulley bolts as I am reluctant to use the tradditional power bar and jab on the sarter motor bodge on keyless pulleys.
In the UK the choice seems to be between the
Ryobi R18IW3-120S or
DeWalt DCF899P1 or
Sealey CP400LIHV

I also looked at the DeWalt DCF880N but suspect it wouldn't be powerful enough ??????

" We're trying to plug a hole in the universe, what are you doing ?. "
(Walter Bishop Fringe TV show)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Noah
  • Give code definitions with numbers!
More
3 years 2 months ago - 3 years 2 months ago #45726 by Noah
Milwaukee makes the one you want ;)

I have some experience with the dewalt stuff, MAC tools cordless tools are just red DeWalts. They're good, really good in fact. Better than any of my snap on cordless tools.
That first DeWalt you have listed in pretty sure is the MAC one everyone has at the junk yard, the higher amp hour battery obviously boosts performance.
But the one that's going to remove every bolt you throw at it without question is the Milwaukee. As long as you don't mind it's weight...

"Ground cannot be checked with a 10mm socket"
Last edit: 3 years 2 months ago by Noah.

More
3 years 2 months ago #45727 by Matt T
The 899 Dewalt is the only gun you listed that might remove crank bolts reliably. The other three fall in the struggle with tight lug nuts category. Even the 899 is on the weak side, at 700/1,200 ft lb, compared to some other guns. IR's W7152 is rated 1,000/1,500 ft lb and some of the other manufacturers are also claiming similar numbers.

More
3 years 2 months ago #45728 by Matt T