A place for things that don't fit into the automotive world

The importnace of interviewing the customer

More
4 years 3 weeks ago #38111 by JeffBirt
First let me state I'm not a professional mechanic. I have done about 99% of my own repairs for the last 30+ years though.

In several videos I have heard Paul talk about the importance of the tech being able to talk directly to the customer as this is the only way to get the real skinny on what problem they were having with the vehicle. You want to ask what problem they think they are having, any funny sounds, smells, etc. I have done field service on various equipment and a former boss of mine called this 'interviewing the customer'.

I'm wondering what actually happens at the average dealership or shop as my experience with them is very limited. The few times I have had to go to a dealership I've had mixed results. At a Toyota dealership the service write and tech were both awesome even when I had to return for a small follow-up problem. At a few other dealerships my impression of the service writer was that they were clueless and I'm not sure they actually every conveyed to the tech what I said.

I go to a locally owned shop here where I live for the few jobs I don't do myself and they are awesome. You can tell that the interaction between customer, service write and tech is all good and information is conveyed. If I take my truck in for an inspection and it needs something little it is OK to just go ahead and do it.

I guess what I'm getting it is an outsider to the industry I don't know f this is just a difference between shops, between a dealership and independent shop, etc. I'm just curious what your experience is from being in the industry.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Noah
  • Give code definitions with numbers!
More
4 years 2 weeks ago #38134 by Noah
That is one area that my shop lacks in severely.