A place for things that don't fit into the automotive world

EFI TUNING, A VIABLE CAREER?

More
5 years 1 month ago #27061 by alexanderjustin
I wanted to see the community opinion on EFI Tuning as a career path, I have been a shade tree mechanic for two years and want to get into performance tuning on a dyno. Is this a viable path or is it better off as a hobby?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 1 month ago #27314 by wacoeagle
I think it would be tough to get going, but once u get good and your name gets around, people will look for you. from what im learning theres a lot of spectrums to tuning. knowing how the code was written for each application would be invaluable. ive always felt that in order to fix or enhance something, you must know how it works in the first place. It seems that when fuel injection came out, horsepower dropped signifigantly. I have an 89 dakota, with the 318, TBI, mild cam, roller lifters, stock heads, and factory horsepower is around 200 or less. if that motor had a good double barrel carb instead of fuel injection, It would higher hp. I like the dependability of fuel injection but not the restrictive parameters that the computers make then run in. I t would be fun to know what is in the computers, and how to fiddle with them and tell them to let the horses run.

• Noah
  • Give code definitions with numbers!
More
5 years 1 month ago #27316 by Noah
Replied by Noah on topic EFI TUNING, A VIABLE CAREER?
My friend is buying some tuning software/hardware for our cars. I have a mild street build Mustang, but the rest of them have turbos, twin turbos, super chargers etc.
He thinks because I have an A8 engine performance cert I can figure out the software, lol.