Clever scope software stuff

More
2 years 9 months ago - 2 years 9 months ago #50125 by Wightscope
I am still learning the ever evolving Pico 7 software, but now it is available on Linux I can sit at home in comfort and play. 
Looking at a diesel car yesterday that had just had a cam belt done - I was in the garage for another job,  and it was running like poo on re-start. I offered to check cam/crank correlation as I had the scope out anyway - which much to the tech's relief was spot on.
However when I looked at the crank signal I could see an anomally, which if you use a scope is pretty obvious, but not sure the tech was convinced!

IMO it was an issue with the tone ring, but the pick up air gap was altered minutely and the problem was fixed.

I was looking for a way to make the problem more obvious and later on I found the "Crank 60" option on the maths channel - perfect and unmissable!

As the trace represents the acceleration of the crank with each firing, you can use this with a synch to identify a misfiring cylinder in the same way as a  a Ford powerbalance.

What clever scope stuff have you come across?

Last edit: 2 years 9 months ago by Wightscope.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Tyler

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
2 years 8 months ago #50309 by Andy.MacFadyen
Another way to do it is use Scan data on.Bosch Common Rail systems will give RPM per cylinder at idle so you can pick out a poor cylindet.

" We're trying to plug a hole in the universe, what are you doing ?. "
(Walter Bishop Fringe TV show)

The following user(s) said Thank You: Wightscope

More
2 years 8 months ago #50322 by AJeep18
Replied by AJeep18 on topic Clever scope software stuff
So is that math filter on the Pico similar or the same as the one on the ATS Escope? 

More
2 years 8 months ago #50325 by Wightscope
Not used the ATS sorry.