New To Picoscope

More
3 years 1 month ago #47658 by CAT785C
New To Picoscope was created by CAT785C
Hello Everyone,
Very happy to be part of the SD Forum. As the title states I am brand new to Pico (just arrived in the mail this weekend) and I have captured my first In-cylinder waveform. Working on 2019 Fusion 2.0L GTDI. Towed in with a crank no-start. Another shop did a short block and now it won't start. RC test shows all cylinders are equal. Capture In-cylinder waveform on Cyl#1. Based upon low TDC pressure, very deep exhaust pocket, and almost no intake activity, suspect restriction in intake system. Based on the waveform, am I on the right track with this? I looked through the Pico Library but was unable to locate a similar waveform.
Thank you in advance.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 1 month ago - 3 years 1 month ago #47675 by Chad
Replied by Chad on topic New To Picoscope

and almost no intake activity, suspect restriction in intake system.

I don't believe your problem is an intake restriction. The slow cranking speed allows plenty of time for air to enter the cylinder, without creating much vacuum. This is normal, and to be expected. Keep in mind that the pressure transducer is in the CYLINDER. If the intake was restricted, there would be a DEEP vacuum in the cylinder, as the piston moves down. It looks like late valve timing, to me. I would capture Cams/Crank, and compare to a known good.

2017 Fusion 2.0 Known Good

"Knowledge is a weapon. Arm yourself, well, before going to do battle."
"Understanding a question is half an answer."

I have learned more by being wrong, than I have by being right. :-)
Last edit: 3 years 1 month ago by Chad.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Noah

More
3 years 1 month ago #47678 by Matt T
Replied by Matt T on topic New To Picoscope

CAT785C wrote: Based upon low TDC pressure, very deep exhaust pocket, and almost no intake activity, suspect restriction in intake system.