Using attenuators to protect your scope

More
3 years 9 months ago #41050 by al514
So using an attenuator won't protect scopes from spikes? Is it recommended to use only secondary probes for ignition primary/secondary's? I'm still learning my scope.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 9 months ago - 3 years 9 months ago #41051 by Chad
An attenuator WILL protect your scope from spikes. Andy's caution:

Andy.MacFadyen wrote: *********An attenuator is not suitable for measuring ignition secondary (HT) voltage,*********

is referring to Secondary VOLTAGE ( The visible spark that jumps the Spark Plug gap. ) This voltage is can peak over 40,000 volts. An attenuator is not suitable to measure this.

Is it recommended to use only secondary probes for ignition primary/secondary's?

To measure PRIMARY VOLTAGE, we back-probe the control side of the ignition coil using regular test leads attached to the scope. When the coil is turned on, it creates a magnetic field. When it is turned off, the magnetic field collapses and creates a voltage spike. This voltage spike can peak over 400 volts. This is where an attenuator would be used. (Snap-on scopes can handle a 400v spike and do not require attenuation.)

As the magnetic field collapses in the Primary winding, it induces a voltage in the SECONDARY winding that is about 100x higher in voltage. This SECONDARY VOLTAGE is NOT measured, directly, by the scope. This is where a Secondary Probe is used. The probe measures the magnetic field around the plug wire and converts it to a low voltage output. The scope, then, reads this low voltage. No attenuator is needed.

"Knowledge is a weapon. Arm yourself, well, before going to do battle."
"Understanding a question is half an answer."

I have learned more by being wrong, than I have by being right. :-)
Last edit: 3 years 9 months ago by Chad.
The following user(s) said Thank You: al514, Nowing75

More
3 years 9 months ago #41056 by al514