which scope for engineer/automotive enthusiast?

More
4 years 10 months ago #30229 by Jim22
I'm sorry, I know this has been discussed over and over, maybe my situation is slightly different...

I am in the market for a scope to use on auto repair as a DIY. I am also an Electrical / Computer Engineer, with a degree and 30 years experience in embedded software and hardware. I have used sophisticated storage scopes on digital circuits and motor controls. I try to troubleshoot and repair my cars as needed, with various degrees of success. At the moment, I have a Ford Ranger V3.0 that just "doesn't sound right" under load, and I'm interested in checking things like cam/crank timing and spark quality, etc.

I have a few hundred dollars I can spend, I would prefer not to waste it on a tool which will just frustrate me. I am looking at the Hantek USB scopes like the 1008C and the various other Hantek 4 channel models. I don't currently own any scope accessories, so the full kits look appealing. I am fully aware that these scopes have rather unsophisticated input circuitry and software, as well as limited storage ability. It also seems there are software installation challenges and that probably Hantek does not provide the most robust or rich featured software. I see on the Hantek web site that they have a downloadable SDK, and I most likely have the skills needed to write some software. I am very familiar with Visual Basic, for instance, and have written quite a bit of communication-intense software.

I've also looked a bit at the Autel scope, which looks like it is probably a Hantek under the hood. I don't see a whole lot of good info on the Autel software, I would be using it with a laptop. I also don't see an SDK for it. I suspect the Autel has somewhat better input circuitry.