How many scope channels do you really need?

More
5 years 1 month ago - 5 years 1 month ago #27108 by MoleNZ
Hi, I'm a Mitsubishi tech, I'm looking at purchasing a picoscope so I can gain greater knowledge in the diagnostic side of my job.
My work has a Modis Ultra which I use when I can, I even brought my own low amp probe to use with it so I can do fuel pump, ignition coil analysis etc.
Unfortunately diagnosis is a smaller part of my work load, due to the dealerships size (small) and low number of technicians I end up doing a bit of everything, this means my time with the scope is limited and as such my skills using it are also limited.
Anyway I believe if I have my own scope I could use it in my own time and on my own vehicles and become far more proficient with scope diagnosis.
Of course I would like to keep the cost as low as possible, I have done quite a bit of research and decided on a picoscope, but I am undecided on the number of scope channels I really need.
Having looked on other forums it would seem 4 channel is what is most often recommended, but the recommendations don't seem to come with any real world usage to back this up.
So I would like to know from anyone who owns a 2 or 4 channel scope how often you really needed a 3rd or 4th channel (measuring 4 abs sensors at once is not something that would convince me), and if you only had a 2 channel scope what fault did you have that you where unable to solve (or was much more difficult to solve) because of that missing 3rd or 4th channel.
Last edit: 5 years 1 month ago by MoleNZ.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 1 month ago #27109 by Andy.MacFadyen