Scope recommendation for specific use case

More
5 years 3 months ago #25913 by Danneskjold
Hi All,

I reviewed the threads on scopes/scanners and would like some input before buying. I'm an amateur who only works on three cars-1991 Honda CRX 1992 Acura NSX, and a 1985 Porsche 911. My only computer is an Apple laptop, but i have Windows XP on a virtual machine that seems to work pretty well.

The Honda ECU is OBD-0, the Acura is OBD-1, and the Porsche is an early Bosch product. I can't imagine any of the scanners helping much on these cars, so I think I'm looking for a 2 channel scope.

The Hantek 1008 and the picoscope 2204A are both in my budget. Two questions-

1. Are the automotive settings on the Hantek worthwhile for the vehicles I'll be working on?

2. Will the Pico be usable even though this is the non-automotive version?

Any other advice, or scope suggestions are welcome!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 3 months ago #25937 by Andy.MacFadyen
You will get on fine without pre-sets just a matter of playing around with the scope settings not difficult and something you can quickly get used to.
The Hantek 1008c comes bundled with an ignition probe suitable for your vehicles however the software although some of the bugs have been sorted out is a pita to use. The automotive pre-sets in the Hantek software aren't great and the hardware is of very variable quality. As for working within a virtual XP machine I can't say as I don't know the Apple OS although from experience of using VitualBox it would probably be down how well the USB ports on the virtual Windows system . functioned.

Although it lacks a 2nd channel (which is useful on distributor ignitions) in your case I am wondering if an AES uScope might be a good fit.