Oscilliscope recommendation for ludite

More
3 months 1 week ago #64252 by idickers
I have been wrenching on cars for about 30 years as a hobby, and haven't needed much more than a code reader and mechanical intuition until recently.  I just picked up an Autel MS906 Pro and would like to add an oscilloscope to my bag of tools.  Is there a sub-$600 oscilloscope I could pickup that would work with either a windows/mac laptop or the android tablet that the Autel is loaded onto? I thought the Autel MP408 might be a good choice, but it appears to be discontinued and Autel has no replacement.  I have a cheap Chinese oscilloscope (Yeapook ADS1013D) that I've been playing with, but it seems a little clunky and limited.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Noah
  • Give code definitions with numbers!
More
3 months 1 week ago #64257 by Noah
www.aeswave.com/uScope-Basic-Kit-p9621.html

The U-Scope is widely used in the industry with much praise.
I don't personally own one, but have used one. It's a good option for beginners, or even experienced techs that don't need to bust out the big guns.
It is a single channel, so if you want to to cam and crank relationship waveforms, you'll need to upgrade.

"Ground cannot be checked with a 10mm socket"

More
3 months 1 week ago #64258 by idickers
I think for a variety of projects I'll need 4 channels. I may have to raise my price ceiling.

More
3 months 1 week ago #64259 by idickers
What about the Micsig brand? I see they have a 4-channel virtual scope that can output to a laptop or android tablet. I might be able to use that with my Autel MS906 Pro tablet.

More
3 months 1 week ago #64260 by Matts Auto
Pico scope 2405A may be a good option for you.

• Noah
  • Give code definitions with numbers!
More
3 months 1 week ago #64265 by Noah
One of our most senior members uses a Micsig at the Nissan dealership.
Maybe he will be kind enough to pop in here and give an honest review.