A place to discuss hardware/software and diagnostic procedures

Baro Minus Map equals manifold pressure

More
2 years 5 months ago - 2 years 5 months ago #52617 by wowcoop
So... I was de-carbing an engine the other day and (I always monitor a scan tool while do this) it occurred to me, hey I should test Paul's subtract Map from Baro tip! S0...

and do the math

look at the vacuum gauge next to the modis! 21 inches!!! (I always run a long vacuum line from the manifold into the cabin so I can nail the key to off if I have to, never have had to but lets be safe)
Holy crap!!! it works!!! all this time like 25 yrs plus using a scan tool and I never realized that the .84 -.90 volt map sensor reading I always look for is realy 21 inches of vacuum!!!
I just started on the Premium channel because I bought a Modis and wanted to "brush up on my Diag" and holy #$%& I'm Rusty as heck! Paul your site is so fricken awesome!!! i'm a 30 year factory tech ASE L1 certified back in '94 when the L1 test first came out...
and I just cant believe how much I love working on cars now! I feel like i'm reborn using lab scopes again and ditching the factory troubleshooting mazes.... (i almost never use them, just want to know for the results for some direction) Thanks for the Clarity!!
Last edit: 2 years 5 months ago by wowcoop.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Tyler

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
2 years 5 months ago #52634 by juergen.scholl
Actually the 0.9 volts DO NOT reflect 21 inches of vacuum.

As per name - Manifold Absolute Pressure -; this is what it really means. The (low) pressure created in the intake manifold at idle will translate into a voltage reading on the scanner. This pressure and the corresponding voltage would not change with different altitudes but the engine vacuum/gauge pressure would!.