A place to discuss hardware/software and diagnostic procedures

A ground wire question

More
2 years 8 months ago #51036 by Cummins guy
So I’m not that good at wiring but I been following danner on YouTube and when he shows how to test for power with a basic test light he also puts it to a ground without moving from the negative post….and when he test for ground if it don’t light up he says it’s a good ground….my question is what about if the ground wire is broke some were? Or is that assuming the ground wire is not cut in half somewhere? I know to put the test light to positive to test for ground so the light will light showing you have a good ground but how would you know if the ground wire is not broke the danner method? Any help is appreciated danner is super smart so a lot of his test are over my head lol 

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
2 years 8 months ago #51038 by AJeep18
Replied by AJeep18 on topic A ground wire question
 It really does not make sense but it happens. The same thing with a volt meter. A ground to ground test with a bad ground will show voltage. I think the theory is something around this line: essentially the ground wire is flowing some amount of voltage and current from positive to negative, when you have a bad ground, all of the electricity can not flow through the ground wire to ground and remains on the wire thus why the test light would light up. However you have to be careful where you do you testing. If you have a broken wire, the point where that wire connects, and any point before the break would look good, but any point between the component and ground would have voltage. 

More
2 years 8 months ago #51057 by Cummins guy
Replied by Cummins guy on topic A ground wire question
Yea it’s confusing that’s for sure lol thanks for the reply I need to do some tests at home I guess to really understand it

More
2 years 8 months ago #51082 by Teamwork
Replied by Teamwork on topic A ground wire question