A place to discuss hardware/software and diagnostic procedures

No Communication error on MODIS

More
7 years 1 month ago #7014 by Ibrahim 2011
Hello all

I am getting an error when trying to check the ABS on a 2006 Buick Terraza from the Snap-On MODIS that says "No Communication, Is key on? Ensure scanner is connected." I am able to communicate with all the rest of the car... I replaced the ABS Module a while back due to a burned up module. Since then all of the lights on the dash have been on and I am trying to communicate with the module to figure out why.

I am new to most of this so any help would be appreciated.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 1 month ago #7027 by GeekDIYMechanic
Well, I really need more input to help you.

But, let's start simple and check all fuses.

Here's how ScannerDanner does this.
  • Research to find out where all your fuse boxes are
  • Attach Test Light to chassis(ground)
  • Touch tip of Test Light to a known power source, which should have the light come on; this is done to test your ground. If it doesn't come on, ensure you touched a power source and ensure you are on a good chassis ground.
  • Looking at each fuse, you will see two metal openings on top of each one
  • HERE - Taking your time, work on one fuse at a time
  • Touch the test light tip to one of the metal opening; note its state, on or off
  • Touch the test light tip to the other metal opening of the same fuse. Its state should match the other opening
  • If one side lights and the other doesn't, that fuse is blown. You will need to replace it with exactly the same amperage rating. This will be the number on top of it, e.g. 5, 10, 15, 30....
  • If both sides don't light, look up what that fuse does. It probably needs something turned on, like radio, interior lights, A/C,.... So turn on that circuit and retest this same fuse. So turn on that circuit and go back to HERE
  • At this point, this fuse has been tests