A place to discuss hardware/software and diagnostic procedures

Bosch 525X vs Autel 906BT

More
3 years 4 months ago - 3 years 4 months ago #44764 by AJeep18
I am a fairly new automotive tech, and a saving to buy my first scan tool. I was fairly set on the Autel 906BT due to its relatively low price and numerous features. However, I see that Bosch has recently released a new scanner (525X) and wondered if anyone had any experience with it? I can't really find any reviews online, except for ScannerDanner's short video featuring it :). I like that it would be able to program modules using the VCI and a laptop; I don't really see a big use for the wiring diagrams and other features as my shop has ProDemand, and I'm probably too cheap to keep paying for the subscription! I mostly work on light duty diesel trucks right now, but would certainly like a scanner with the ability to help me diagnose anything. Thanks- Andrew

Also any feedback from how the other Bosch tools work would be appreciated if you do not have experience with the 525
Last edit: 3 years 4 months ago by AJeep18. Reason: Spelling

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 4 months ago #44813 by Nelson60
Replied by Nelson60 on topic Bosch 525X vs Autel 906BT
I've owned the 525X since the latter part of September. Bought it to replace an old first Generation SO Modis that could no longer be updated since 2016. I decided on the 525x due to the included compliant VCI pass thru which will allow me to get into the programming side of auto repair in the shop. I have experience with the shop's Autel Maxisys also plus the above mentioned SO Modis. Also, I got a great deal on the 525x when I purchased it, paid about $1650. (Check around on internet for a good price, they are out there)