A place to discuss hardware/software and diagnostic procedures

New tool - A pulse sensor

More
4 years 4 months ago #35247 by Deltron
Bear with me here as I'm completely new to this tool. A friend I met on a facebook auto tech group has a side gig where he creates these pulse sensors and mails them out to you. So I ordered one and here is my first capture.

It doesn't give actual pressure or vacuum numbers, it simply shows pulses of either. Above 0 is pressure, below is vacuum. I hooked this sensor up to my car (2003 Accord 2.4L) on the brake booster vacuum hose, just as a testing scenario and to see how it works.

This is my K24A motor running at 2,000 RPM. Red trace is the pulse sensor, green trace is cyl #4 ignition command squarewave from PCM, to act as a sync. Firing order is 1-3-4-2. Sorry about the noise on that channel(but it sorta helps identify other cyl TDC)

I have added pointers to the thing I want to discuss. I believe I may have found an issue with my car, I'm just not 100% sure on how to read this sensors output.

If you follow the math, the problem area is occurring at the cyl #3 firing event. Being that it's an intake vacuum capture at that moment, it must be 180 degrees from #3(the next cylinder to fire), meaning the cylinder/valves producing that jagged vacuum pulse must be #4 , right?

Also, I'd love to hear any general input on the pattern as this is brand new to me, first use ever.

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 years 4 months ago #35251 by Andy.MacFadyen
With a Honda especially if it has a 60,000+ miles under its belt I would suggest adjusting the valve clearances

Inlet Valves : 0.21-0.25mm (0.008-0.010in)
Exhaust Valves: 0.28-0.32mm (0.011-0.013in)

" We're trying to plug a hole in the universe, what are you doing ?. "
(Walter Bishop Fringe TV show)

The following user(s) said Thank You: Michael N

More
4 years 4 months ago #35257 by Paul P.